Home » Life » If I Had a Mulligan

If I Had a Mulligan

I said I wasn’t going to do this every day, but it’s been so much fun and the topics are interesting. So here is another post inspired by the Daily Prompt, and today that means I get to rewrite a bit of personal history. What would have happened if….(and there are so many directions I could go.)

Heading into 6th grade I had to choose an instrument to play in band. My dad was a drummer, my mom played clarinet. They met in college marching band, so this wasn’t really optional, and I already had musical background in piano. So those were my choices: percussion or clarinet. Because that’s what we had and we couldn’t afford to rent or buy something else.

In the end, I was lazy and chose percussion because I couldn’t get sound to come out of the clarinet. Well, at least anything resembling music. Here is a list of things that may not have happened if I had chosen otherwise:

  1. Maybe I wouldn’t have been as good at clarinet. I ended up being pretty good at mallet percussion (xylophones and such).
  2. My best friends in high school were in percussion. We’re an odd group.
  3. Every year we were required to audition for district band. Every year I made it in the top band. Pretty sweet.
  4. I got invited to audition for Sound of America in my junior year. I sent in my audition tape and was actually surprised that I got accepted. So my dad (as a chaperone) and I went on tour that summer in Europe with a band and choir made of students from across the country. It was the best music opportunity I’ve ever had.
  5. The best of the best in the top district bands across the state are invited to audition for state band. I auditioned my senior year and placed 6th, right behind 5 people who could afford private lessons. State band only takes the top 5 and I finished .05 behind the last slot. Bummer.

So there you have it. If I hadn’t picked percussion I would not be awesome. Or in the case of the last point… almost awesome…

Actually what happened was this. They always say that college is the best 4 years of your life. I don’t know who “they” are but “they” obviously didn’t have my high school experience. It was better than my college experience, although maybe that’s because I didn’t do anything music related in college. Honestly, it was because I didn’t want it to be different from the experiences I already had. I was protecting a memory. A memory that may not have existed if I had chosen clarinet.

Leave a Reply

