Home » Annoyances » Brown Shoes, Black Pants

Brown Shoes, Black Pants

Last night, I was thinking about what I’m going to wear to work today. I have like, 5 pairs of pants to choose from. Khaki, Brown, Black, Gray, Scrubs. I’ve already worn the Khaki, Gray, and 2 pairs of scrubs this week. So I decided I would wear black pants and a sweater today, because the groundhog lied about spring. I went to bed with a plan.

I woke up this morning, threw my outfit in the dryer to get the wrinkles out (I avoid folding laundry, so everything has some wrinkles). I then finished getting ready for work, came downstairs and put my dryer-warmed clothes on, and had to pick a pair of shoes. Apparently, this is where the plan went awry.

I have 2 pairs of the exact same shoe in both black and brown. Nothing special, just plain Mary Jane flats from Walmart (of all places). There they lay on the floor, side-by-side in a somewhat dark room. I then had a moment of clarity on how I could tell the difference between the black pair and the brown pair in the dark: the black ones have a silver lining, the brown pair has a goldish lining. The linings are more distinguishable in the dark than the actual shoe colors.

Knowing this, I am now astonished that I managed to put the brown pair on and get to work before I realized that I will now go through the entire day with brown shoes and black pants. Maybe I was mesmerized by the lining revelation. Maybe I had somehow forgotten my plan, since the night before, was to wear black pants. Was I not thinking? Did something distract me for a moment? Was the gold lining more attractive than the silver? I have no explanation for this wardrobe faux pas, I’m actually quite puzzled by it. It’s actually bothering me that I did this, considering the moment of debate on which shoes are black and which are brown. I’m annoyed.

Oh well. I’ll just sit here with my feet under my desk.

Leave a Reply

